Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Needing help

Well, the holiday has come to an end and I really wish it wasn't so!

A stress-free time getting ready to leave, but our exit from the hotel premises was delayed by over 30 minutes because of a motorist parking his Mercedes car in such a way so as to block of the main exit! A umber of people got involved clearing an alternate exit which involved moving a 1 tonne bag of builders sand.

Fortunately the car hire company didn't charge us for an extra day. Being so early, we were able to have a leisurely breakfast at Carluccio's followed by a leisurely amble through security and waiting for Gates to be announced. G has to travel up to Wakefield and it turns out flying to Leeds was the best option and amazingly, our flight times were within 30 minutes of each other from the same terminal. There you go!

For a change, I made it in good time to my gate. Plenty of time to watch other aircraft getting ready to take off. I couldn't help pondering on the fact that these massive birds fly thousands of miles in just a few hours but can't do the simple thing of reversing from the terminal building to actually begin the journey! Some food for thought there. I actually did manage to get a 747 being pushed back but there was too much in the foreground.

A pleasant journey home. The middle seat stayed empty (YAY) and on the aisle was a returning resident who had lived in Dubai since 1985, so we had a few things to talk about! And I actually did it at the start and didn't leave it till the last hour!

Arrived back to typical Dubai agro starting with waiting nearly an hour in the immigration queue; then a very unfriendly immigration officer who just could not find it in himself to be civil. No waiting for my bag, and Pauline picked me up in my car (YAY again) AND as she had to pick her car up from her daughter's place, I even got to drive myself home! Think it was 1am by the time I walked through the door to a cool flat. The cleaner had gone in to switch an a/c on. It's ALL GOOD! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.