Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

A view of Portsdown Hill from............

the top of Portchester Castle tower.
I took myself off to the Castle this afternoon, and spent quite a time there taking many shots from around the grounds, inside and the top of the Castle.

You get a fabulous view from there and as I have taken shots before of Portsdown Hill from the Spinnaker Tower and shots of the Spinnaker Tower from the Hill, I was more or less between the two, so I would get more detail in the shots.
I will post a few more shots on my Flickr page shortly.

On the right of the shot is the Portsmouth Marriott Hotel and immediately to the left of that is the Port Solent Marina complex.
View in large to see.

Just below the chalk face of the hill is the Paulsgrove council estate then virtually on the waterline runs the A27 road.
On the left of the shot is where Vosper, now BAE systems that does ship repairs. In its Hey Day, they had Navy vessels there for repair and upgrade.
Sadly that has all gone except for running repairs on much smaller vessels.

In the foreground are the grounds of the castle. Car parks and all.

The weather as you can see was somewhat unpredictable, but luckily only showers that did not last long.

Enjoy and take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.