Year 2, Day 205 - St Magnus Cathedral

We took a trip out to The Gloup today. When we got to the car park, we followed some other people, assuming they knew the way... and ended up cutting across a field back onto a coastal path which then led to the Brough of Deerness. It actually turned out to be a worthwhile detour because I don't think we would have gone along the path to the brough if we hadn't taken the wrong path in the first place! There was a fairly steep path down then back up to the brough and only me and my nephew went over. Well worth it though!

We then followed the path back to The Gloup - it was a lot bigger than I remembered!

Lunch at the Fossil Museum before heading to the Aquarium but we couldn't find it so we turned around and went to the Smiddy Museum in St Margaret's Hope and the caretaker told us that the owner of the aquarium has gone to work in Shetland this summer so it is closed.

On the way back to the chalet, we stopped at the Orkney Wine place next to the Italian Chapel and we each spent a few pennies on some lovely wine... Can't wait to get stuck into it when I get home - I certainly don't want to share it!!!

My dad and I went into Kirkwall tonight for some night shots but there's not an awful lot lit up at night but I liked this shot of the Cathedral!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.