Porty People and Places

Plane, pylons and Portobello church spire

Last night I was in town as the Typhoon jets roared over the Castle. This evening I was ready for them but, they never came. ( I was tempted to insert my view of The Red Arrows that flew across this skyline on Saturday but Blip rules don't allow that!)

I did, however, capture a plane taking off from Edinburgh, in the left hand lower loop of cables. The light breeze was on shore and the planes were taking off using the easterly runway this evening.

For those who remember the Edwardian brick coal fired power station at Portobello will know that these pylons carried surplus power to the National Grid. Today the power station is long gone and the pylons now carry the power from that Grid into the capital city.

The sunsets here are nudging shy of nine o'clock - a reminder that our long summer light nights are beginning to dim.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.