Nurse Tree

I love seeing new trees growing on old stumps. They send their roots down through and over the stump to the earth and grow balanced on top of the rotting stumps. These old trees are called nurse trees. I expect it is because they provide nourishment to the new trees that grow above them. We have many of these in the forests near where I live. I took this photo this afternoon as I wandered in Big Rock Park. Take a look large to see more detail.

My first job today was to take seven paintings up to the Cliff House Restaurant here in Bellingham and hang them. I took paintings I did of the canals of Venice including the largest painting I've ever made. It is called "Bridge Eye View" and is four feet wide and three feet tall. It fits perfectly on the large wall in the restaurant. The rest also fit well and it only took about 20 minutes to hang them all. Felt good to do that.

After the walk we all headed off to an appointment. I actually had to run part of the way home because I had miss calculated how long it would take to get home before it was time to leave. Phew! I only ran on the down hill trails so it was actually fun and not too taxing. I was really hot when I got home though. The appointment went very well. I do think that we are establishing a great team to bring the results we all want to see.

Tonight I made salmon, corn, rice and salad for dinner. I tried something new with the salmon. I spread Coleman's mustard and garlic on the fish and added a bit of dill. Yum! We enjoyed the dinner very much.

Now it is time to watch some TV with Arvin and Helena. Not sure if I'll be doing any commenting tonight. Thanks to all of you who keep stopping by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.