Life through the lens...

By ValC

I spy

We pass these horses every Friday on our way to the farm shop, and I keep saying I must blip them one day.
So today before we set off MrC asked if I was taking my camera.
Of course I said "Yes", as I try and carry it every where!

So today he stopped at the side of the road, and here you have the photo!

It is the little spotted one I was interested in, but the other larger horse wanted to be in the picture too!

As far as I know it is an "Appaloosa" horse. Although looks quite small, so may be a young one.
The were originally bred in the inland northwest of America, by the Nez Perce Indians.
They never referred to their horses as "Appaloosa".
The name comes from the Palouse River.
Settlers first referred to the horse as " A Palouse Horse", which was shortened to "Appulousey". and then Appaloosa.
On March 25 1975, the Appaloosa was named Idaho's state horse.

Don't you think I am getting MrC well trained!!

The week has flown again, and Friday already!
Hope you all have a good weekend, and not the rain as we had last Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.