lemonzest

By lemonzest

Baskets in Punsk

R and B were two minutes early to pick me to go to the festival in Punsk this morning, but I surprised them by being ready.

There were lots of people in the town square and there seemed to be something going on in the church. I actually took some photos through the church doors without going in, but I noticed a nun tutting about me, so I didn't post those shots. Being at all rude about religions here is virtually punishable by death, so I have to be very careful. The singing sounded unusually musical and there were garlands of flowers and outside people were making garlands of flowers, bread, sausages, cheese, fabrics and of course baskets. The atmosphere was relaxed and multi-lingual. Representatives of the Lithuanian Democratic Party were there wearing red t-shirts.

J was there with K and their visitors, the Ks who live in Holland. The Ms from Zelwa were also there. I actually bought a few things, actually there is always a better quality of those things in Punsk.

J had a beer, while I had something coolish and over-sweet until the gentleman sitting next to her had an accident with his beer, poor chap.Then we all went home via the amber stalls where the prices seemed to be at celebratory high prices. Local people didn't appear too tempted but B bought some coral ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.