International Space Station transit from my garden

I had the idea to look to see when the International Space Station (ISS) would be visible near me for another attempt at the photographing it after my first attempt in April. I used the NASA website to look up the transit times for my area, and tonight was going to be the night with a 9.30 transit for 5 minutes.
I was going to go and get myself set up for the shoot at Peckleton, but at 9pm it was cloudy and drizzling with rain, so I decided it wasn't going to be worth going out to end up seeing nothing.
I looked out again at about 9.25 and was amazed at how quickly the cloud had broken up, so there was a little chance I might see it. I rushed to get my tripod and set myself up in the garden, and was just in time to see the ISS appear and pass over head.

This is a composite of 3 30 second exposures which have been merged in the star trails software, and the ISS is the solid white line crossing the sky diagonally.

Now I'm getting better at understanding where it will appear I will certainly have another go at the photographing the ISS in a better location.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.