Tree Sparrows

I went across to Rutland on Saturday to visit my parents who were visiting the area with their new caravan, giving it the first test run since picking it up last month.

We went into Oakham for lunch and a look around the wonderful farmers market where we bought some things for tea.

In the afternoon I took Mum and Dad to the Osprey visitor centre and we saw both the male and female Osprey much to Mum's delight (and my relief). She couldn't believe how easy it was to see them after a failed attempt to see the ones at Bassenthwaite a few years ago.

Sadly the Ospreys were perched on the far side of the water so I couldn't get any decent pictures (I'll have to save up for the bigger lens), but outside the reception area of the feeders were a gaggle of Tree Sparrows which are quite rare, and can be distinguished from their more common House Sparrows by the presence of the light brown cap on their heads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.