Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Where there's a will, there's a way...

Dear Diary,

I'm always amazed at what catches my eye. What draws me in and gives me fuel for contemplation. Like this little crab grass tuft growing out of the concrete in the parking lot of the lumber store. I couldn't even see the miniscule crack it had sprouted from which added to my amazement.

It was completely isolated...surrounded by the hot concrete, baking in the sun. Salty sand left over from winter added to it's desert-like environment. Somehow, it had found a small crack and sprouted.

I can't say I am a big fan of crab grass since I do constant battle with it to keep it out of the planting beds but I have to admit I had to admire this little plant. It's will to live is very strong and given even the smallest opportunity, it will find a way to exist. It didn't complain that things weren't "just right"...it worked with what it had and survived.

Cherish the cracks in your life, that is where the light can get in...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.