rockit

By rockit

Knowledge Unlocked

I am now at least 100% more knowledgeable about the workings of multi-point door locking systems than I was at the start of the day. This wasn't a random choice for study but as the door would not lock I decided to have a go at fixing it myself. With help form the internet, of course. Turns out that a small piece of metal had snapped off the internals of the gearbox, preventing the lock mechanism from turning properly. I put the gearbox back together again and it worked perfectly but there's no way of knowing for how long it would work. What if I put it all back together and then at some point in the future, the mechanism decided to fail again but this time when it was locked shut, and I was on the outside of the door, in heavy rain, at 5 am?! Rather than risking this I paid £40 for a new gearbox, and peace of mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.