Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Another first!

It's been a mostly at-home day again. The only time I went out was in the morning to start Gs car and then to the local hypermarket for a small shop. Home within 40 minutes to do some of the stuff I'd put off yesterday.

I had intended to pop out to another supermarket for bread but decided it can be done after work tomorrow; so today; I finally backed up the photos on my laptop! A job only 5 months overdue; and as I lost motivation to go out again, I decided to have a go at boiling rice as it is all I needed to finish off something that is already in the fridge.

It sounds so stupid saying I'm doing this for the first time. In an Asian house, rice is King (especially if it's Basmati) and cooking it right is extremely important and no-one impressed this more on me than my Dad. As a result, I never attempted it. So with a little help from Pauline and G via Whats App, this is the result! I've done it! The grains didn't stick to each other and it tasted just right. Go large to see individual grains. I can't believe how much rice you get from just one cup!

Now thinking of all the possibilities. Must learn to make chick-pea rice! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.