Frustration Day 3

The new router failed to arrive today. I thought we would be forced to wait until Monday to regain internet access. So I tried once again to boot up the old router, and it sprang into life, and all the devices I connected to it have been working fine all evening. I'm now even more confused, but I shall wait until tomorrow when it has fully heated up again to see whether it remains stable. I don't have great faith in it at the moment. Very frustrating.

However, most of the day I was out and not worrying about it. We visited the Royal Geographic Society premises in South Kensington: they had an exhibition of photographs from last year's Travel Photographer of the Year competition set out in the garden at the back of the building. A splendid and very enjoyable set of photographs, in a lovely setting complete with a small refreshment tent. We enjoyed sitting in the shade of a tree with a cup of tea, watching everyone else looking at the images. As part of the decoration of the garden, they had installed a number of these finger posts, pointing to various places both real and imagined. If you are choosing from this sign and don't want to go to the North or South Pole, just make sure you visit the paddle shop before heading off in the other direction!

My view of the photographs on display was a little blurred as a result of drops placed in my eye at an earlier eye examination, but after a few hours my vision was returning to normal, so we also dropped in at the exhibition of landscape photography by Charlie Waite, on show at the National Theatre. A lot of my photography over the years has been very similar in subject matter and style to his images, but it is good to see the detailed care he takes in composition.

With my home computer network apparently behaving, I have also managed to back blip for the last couple of days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.