Another Day

By BlackTulip

Past its Best

The title sums me up perfectly.

I saw the first willow warbler of the year in the garden yesterday afternoon, which is a sure sign Autumn is on the way. They try to hang out with the tits, who really don't like them at all. I don't know why they try to join in but it happens every year from now until around the end of October.

A blue tit flew into the dining room window this morning so I went out to pick it up (a crow took the last one). It was rather stunned but wrapped its feet round one of my fingers so I couldn't let go and after a few minutes I was able to gently attach it to a branch in a low growing Acer, where it spent a little longer recovering before flying off. Result.

Not a sensible time to be going to Snowdon because it will be SO busy, but it is the only time our friends have got free. I'm thinking we should use the Ranger route, which should be a lot quieter until we reach the point where all the routes converge. If anyone has done it this way I'd be interested to know more. Also the Pyg and Miners tracks have lots of steps, which I would find tough going.

The hydrangea has gone over but I thought it still had a bit of a spark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.