A toast to the lassies

There is no wi-fi at the cottage and very limited mobile signal but when I woke and switched on my phone this morning it virtually came alive with messages - all from my son asking me to phone as he had news - not good news or bad news but he just said news! Then the last message said not to phone before 10.30am our time - he is still in Nevada and 8 hours behind the UK. It was the longest few hours I have spent in a long while and finally my daughter and i drove out into the village to find better phone reception. ... and waited until the appointed time......

Two tiny baby girls had decided that they wanted to be brought into the world much too early and had to be delivered by emergency C Section at just 26 weeks gestation. Baby A and Baby B weighed just 1lb 10oz and 2lb 4oz respectively but when my son called they were safely tucked up in their respective incubators attached to numerous devices and wires.

The babies' mum had given us a wee scare on Monday when her scan had shown that one of the babies wasn't growing as it should - hence my need for the physical focus of the high wire on the Tuesday when we received the news. This post should show as being on Tuesday 5th and not 14th.

So while we all battled the midges and torrential rain yesterday the two little girls decided to make the day even more memorable.

In the evening we had a little BarBQ and I bought some champagne and this is the 6 of us giving a toast to the newest and tiniest members of our family. An anxious time lies ahead for us all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.