Derwentwater storm

I said we would have a wet walk - and wet it was as we walked along Derwentwater. Periods of rain fell on us as if we had buckets of water thrown at us interspersed with brief sunny spells. All the time a gale was blowing off the lake.

However these conditions led to amazing light for photographs. The problem was keeping the camera dry.

We got as far as the Ashness Landing Stage and because I had lugged my tripod all that way I tried a big stopper shot to smooth the waves. The results weren't that brilliant though and certainly not as good as this one.

This tree at Strandshag Bay gave a lovely silhouette against the misty storm approaching across the water. Catbells is the fell behind it. The image was already almost mono so I decided that was how it would look best

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.