WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Knickers

This morning we had a walk in Harwich and wandered past cousin James' house, wondering if they were home. After bacon butties on the Halfpenny Pier, we headed back to the flat to get showered because we were gate crashing cousin Nic's son's Christening. As I was drying my hair, Rachel and Rich shouted from the lounge which overlooks the beach, "Get your camera, the bomb disposal squad are parked outside!"

In my knickers and posh top, I dashed onto the balcony and sure enough a wide white van with Bomb Disposal on the bonnet was parked outside. A WWII hand grenade had been discovered on the beach and the promenade was cordoned off.

When we arrived at the do, I chatted to cousin James who said he'd seen us earlier. I said, "Oh! Going past your house?"
"No," he replied as my eyes widened. "...Taking photos in you underwear!"
{Blush!}

How I manage to reinforce my eccentricity so naturally really does amaze me.

It was great to see lots of family together even though it was only for a quick hour. My other two cousins are lively twins. They chatter easily and made us laugh telling us how Anna wanted a dress from Debenhams for the Christening but lives in Spain. She got her sister to buy a few outfits and, on Skype, modelled the dresses for Anna so she could choose what suited and fitted her without having to dash off shopping when she arrived in the UK. I hadn't considered that benefit of being a twin!

I wonder if I had been in the Guides for more than two weeks whether I could have worked up to earning that badge?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.