Lucky

The horseshoe when kept as a talisman is said to bring good luck, and you should hang it with the points upwards to collect any luck that is around!
Rob and I were given a horseshoe when we were married, by the farmer who liveried my horse (also called Jane).
I am not someone who believes in such things, obviously. However we have had a married life full of happy events, and when I couldn't find our horseshoe I was quite upset. Fortunately it turned up again!
Some ancient horseshoes were unearthed during the excavation for our barn conversion, and I have been keeping them for decorations or something, and I realised that of course I should present one to Tom and Sophie to bring them as much luck as we have had.
They were a little rusty, and so I spread the chosen one with Curust and got rather a lot on my fingers, which are now indelibly stained brown, not ideal for icing the wedding cake next weekend.
I am pleased with the way it looks now, and hope it will truly have some influence on their married life.
They do also say that if you hang it with the ends upwards, the devil swings in it!
I have always kept mine horizontal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.