Mine, All Mine!!

Sunset at the lagoon and one duck had it all to himself, at least for a few brief moments. He looked ecstatically happy flapping in the water. After a while he was joined by the rest of his gang and then the gulls showed up along with a couple heron. It got a little crowded but he didn't seem to mind. It's nice to share with a smile on your beak.

This spot is near a small industrial complex and I discovered that there's a sweet little bench in an out-of-the-way spot at the back end of the property. I've been there a few times in the evenings with my bag of bread and assorted treats. It's nice and peaceful but I knew I couldn't be the only one who knew about it. When I got there this evening I discovered that somebody had enjoyed their lunch there -- not a difficult deduction to make since the place was strewn with Wendy's hamburger wrappers. On top of that, apparently someone had combed about a pillows-worth of fur out of a dog and left that as well. I wasn't about to pick up the fur, but I did pick up the trash, cursing all the time.

It's hard for me to understand why people do that sort of thing. This isn't exactly a pristine spot, after all it is in back of a boat repair shop, but it's a nice bench that's been put there by somebody thoughtful for anybody's enjoyment and it makes me angry when people don't appreciate a nice gesture like that and decide to ruin it for everyone else. After all, I was sitting on it when I took this picture so obviously it's a nice spot. On the upside, as I was leaving a very nice man walked up with his dog, Beau (not the freshly-combed dog). The man commented on what a nice spot it was and how he'd been there a few times, so my secret has been discovered. I just hope I don't ever run into the person eating hamburgers there.

Inner peace, inner peace, inner peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.