A successful operation

I thought I would spare you for some of the more grusome and bloody pictures, so this is what you get today.

I got up at 7 and took all of the boys out for some morning fun. We played with a frisbee in a big field and went for a walk in the woods.

At 9 am we had a vet appointment. All of the dogs had their annual health check and vaccinations and I had discovered a lump on Hero's lip, which had to be removed before it grew so big, that it would be difficult to close the wound with the small amount of skin, that he has on his lips.

All dogs looked in good shape and had their vaccinations. No further problems discovered, so that's good news.

I put Beat and Biscuit back in the car and came back with Hero, who was sedated and prepared for his operation.

I stayed with him the whole time and held his paw during the operation. I was there, when he fell asleep and my face was the first thing he saw, when he opened his eyes again.

I love that my vet accepts that I won't leave my dogs with him unless there is no other safe option. I think my dogs really appreciate it too - it helps them feel safe and I believe it makes them recover faster as they have not been stressed about being left alone in a scary place.

The operation went well. We will know in 8 - 10 days what the lump was, but the vet is guessing it is benign. He said it did not look nasty.

All dogs are now fast asleep around me. I have planned a day of computer work and not much else as Hero will need most of the day to recover from his operation/anaesthesia.

We wish Stella the best of luck with her operation today too. We're thinking of you both, Lisa and Stella.

Keep your fingers crossed for a speedy and good recovery.
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.