Star of Gold

You see, "Stella de Oro" literally translates, "star of gold." It's one of the few signs that summer is still hanging on. Most other flowers are fading now and I even have leaves falling from a couple of my trees.

Stella de Oro is a day lily and not to be confused with Stella D'oro the cookies. You'd be surprised how many people don't know the name of this beautiful flower but when you tell them, they immediately think of the cookies.

It's 7:45 as I'm typing this and the sun has already begun to set. It doesn't seem possible that the summer is almost over. I am determined to make the most of the few weeks we have left. Tomorrow I'm going to Atlantic City for a night or two and while we are staying there we are going to drive down to Cape May for the day. Cape May is a beautiful old Victorian seaside town. I haven't been there in ages.

I hope the weather cooperates.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.