Hummingbird Spa

I went to Oliver's today, and spotted a wonderful little old lady in sensible black shoes, a long pale blue coat and a bonnet (!). She was very businesslike and walked briskly. I wound up behind her in line as I tried to surreptitiously take her picture from behind. The cashier rung up her purchases, the bagger bagged them up and asked if she needed help out.

"Oh no, she said, but I would like another cart. This one is so creaky…."

She waited until he went outside and got her a new cart and then she dug around in her purse while the checker looked at me and tried to roll her eyes without actually rolling her eyes. The old dear finally pulled out two checkbooks and about a hundred little dog eared, folded up pieces of paper, wrapped in a rubber band, and began sorting through the pieces of paper. In due course, she extracted one checkbook, wrote out a check and handed it over.

Her bag was packed and in the cart.

My items were checked and packed in a bag.

We all waited while she methodically put all the pieces of paper and the checkbooks back together, wrapped them in the rubber band and placed them in her purse.

The checker told her to have a good day and tried tho move her away from the card reader which I needed to complete my purchase.

Finally she turned  her birdlike face to me and without a trace of a smile asked me if I was going anywhere near the Flamingo Hotel?

I could honestly claim that I was going in the opposite direction to which she replied,
"Oh that's alright. I'll just hit up somebody else"

My mind was busy all the way home wondering what would have happened if I'd taken her home, and rather wishing I had...

I came home and watched the hummingbirds taking turns in the spa with the goldfinches….

Did I mention that I somehow deleted her picture from my phone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.