Topsy Turvy

It is a rare day that I don't even think about getting out of bed until 3pm. Today was one of those days. Feeling ill, I have been languishing and reading Americanah by Chimananda Ngozi Adichie. It is a complete departure from Half of a Rising Sun about Biafra's struggle to establish an independent state in Nigeria in the 1960's.

Americanah it is ostensibly about a young Nigerian woman's struggles with being black in the 21st century. Since I couldn't say it any better, I quote The Chicago Tribune:

"Brimming with lush detail, unflinching emotion and wry humor…an absorbing love story but also a multilayered meditation on learning to belong to one's own life. An intricate novel for an intricate process."

I love that phrase--"learning to belong to one's own life". Food for thought.

I think Ozzie has gotten the knack of it….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.