WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Aviary

Today, I went out hoping to see a tree creeper.

In the fields, I heard a lot of tweeting and saw much flitting about in a particular tree.  As I sneaked towards it, I could see all sorts of varieties.  I heard the fax machines of long tailed tits, which I rarely see, so that was a treat in itself.  With them were blue tits, great tits and sure enough, a tree creeper circling the trunk.  The whole tree was alive with wing beats - I really felt like I was inside an aviary.  They didn't seem at all bothered.

I did catch a few photos of the tree creeper but this little chap caught my eye.

I think it's a wood warbler or maybe a chiff chaff with its bright eye liner?

Hmmm... Or maybe a willow warbler with the colour of its legs? Maybe I should have blipped the tree creeper!

Update:  Have it on fair confidence from the loveliest birder I know that it's a willow warbler!

First impressions are that of Willow Warbler for me. It lacks the white belly  of Wood. There's more dark ear coverts on willow as in your pic and nice yellow hues on the flanks and belly which rules out wood. Young warblers can be tricky though and it's best looking at the wing and tail pattern for better ID...

Thank you Stephen!

(Note to self - request pirouette next time.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.