WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Elephant hawk moth larva

And here's something else I've learnt because of blip...

A moth does not have a caterpillar stage, it has a larval stage.

Today, I had a bit of a blip downer wondering what I might find. I knew if I didn't get my rear outside, I wouldn't find anything. So, after getting some work done, I took the dog for a walk in-between showers. Without my camera. (I said my heart wasn't in it today!)

As we walked around the corner, I happened to glance down at some straggly weeds in the pavement and spotted this little fatty. CJ was less than impressed with our about turn. I took him home and put him in a pot (CJ is a girl). After returning to the park and dashing around with the ball, we legged it home and out came the camera and the Internet.

I had no idea what it was but soon discovered its name and the fact it liked fuchsia so I was glad I could oblige. Its name comes from the larval stage too as it has a trunk-like anterior (front end).

Hoping it doesn't get eaten or leg it off so I can watch it develop.

(special ♥ for Dwalletta for preventing pubic public humiliation)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.