The Wren

By TheWren

Safely tucked up

After a good but long flight I finally arrived at Las Vegas and was met by my son and daughter-in-law who whisked me away to meet my two beautiful grand-daughters.

They are cosy and calm in their own incubators with covers over them to keep them comfortable and away from the bright lights of the NICU ward. The mattresses they lie on contain some sort of gel which the NICU nurses are able to mould around their little bodies to simulate how they would feel still tucked up in their mother's womb. They were even tinier than I imagined although their parents say that they are getting bigger. It was a magical moment for me and I was enthralled as I watched my daughter-in-law carefully tending to their care by changing the miniscule nappies. It seems a shame that they have had to be separated from one another as they must have formed quite a bond in the womb but it is essential for them to be in separate incubators to minimise any cross infection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.