A MORE GENTLE DAY

weatherwise today.
Piet Hein and I went to collect the chair, repaired in a village thirty km from our home. We combined it with a search for a wardrobe in a big furniture supermarket and a visit to the botanical garden in Höxter.
I love to visit this botanical garden, it is meant for students in landscape architecture. So there are many trees to admire.
It is on a slope and that adds to it charm. My picture shows the seeds (?) hanging from a branch, from an unknown tree (to me that is).
There are everywhere signs of names but I forgot to look for this specific tree.
I am earnestly not very anxious about names this year, like I was last year.

My haiku:

In vain I search names
Of forgotten sensations
And of flowers too

And the proverb:

Like Mrs. Partington mopping up the Atlantic.

1831 in Sydn. Smith, at Taunton on Reform Bill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.