Carscribe

By Carscribe

Relishing colour

Yesterday was sad, another old chum gone, so today I found myself craving colour and light. There is something about a funeral that always makes me feel grateful to be alive, appreciative of the beauty around us and more acutely aware of making the most of every day.

An unexpected bonus today was an out-of-the-blue call from another old Fleet Street friend I hadn't spoken to in a very long time. Just back from holiday, he'd belatedly picked up the news about our colleague. We had a long chat and it was good to catch up on times past and present.

A long to-do list chained me to the computer for the rest of the day, with no time to find a clever blip, but immeasurably cheered by this bright little splash of colour on the windowsill. Time is finite, we should all make the most of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.