If You're Happy And You Know It

Technophobe's recent pics have got me thinking.

Her lovely empty beach reminded me of the Bradwell Cockle Spit beach. Last winter I met a man whilst walking the sea wall that adjoins it and he said, "Another human being!" I like to have a beach to myself. I was completely alone on Frinton beach earlier this year at 3:00 am.

I woke this morning thinking of the gorgeous pics Technophobe and Loose Canon have posted from The Lakes, of them crossing off Wainwrights and feeling uneasy that I am happy with my lot.

How strange that I should then read Christopher Howse's article in today's paper. He even mentions Wainwright. I didn't feel so bad about enjoying simple pleasures like 'walkies' and taking pics of minority interest things. :)

I went to the cockle spit this afternoon after visiting Mother in the care home. As I walked the Roman road I met a bucket and spade family. Most unusual. I was hoping for waders but the tide was completely out. I got some nice pics of a huge charm of goldfinches feeding on thistle seeds and the swallow family are still wheeling around their pill-box home. The beach was completely empty as usual - apart from the above. :)

I love this happy-looking mud creation. I think its hair is sea cabbage seed heads.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.