Lightsaver

By Marginellaman

Simplicity

And so to my final shot of the holiday. I apologise for it being yet another damselfly but I find them such excellent subjects.
Having discovered and entered wildlife photography competitions recently, I have looked at a lot of wildlife photographs to get an impression of the kind of approach I need to take to get to the standard required to be in with a shout. All the best photo’s have one thing in common – sheer simplicity. It’s not even about capturing the fine details as you might expect. Looking through previous WPYA books this comes through time and time again, and looking at the work of famous photographers like Jim Brandenburg confirms this.
So I have tried to capture this damsel in as simple a way as possible, using the reeds in the background to emphasize the straight line form of the insect. Granted, the subject material isn’t as dramatic as wolves, bison or bears, but it’s the principle I want to practice on in my future wildlife photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.