Plus ça change...

By SooB

Post-dinner debris

Having been woken this morning from a quite delightfully intriguing dream that involved no eels, running or silent screaming, by Mr B's excessively loud alarm, I unanimously voted myself an hour in bed reading my book.

When the day properly began I realised, after a brief morning eye rub, that I was right to leave my contact lenses in last night and that I will never again chop chillies without gloves on. So, with my fingers stinging, tingling and burning, I got on with the days work. Getting the sun cream/chlorine stains out of swimwear is always a problem. But I think I may finally have found a solution. We have a cleaner here that I use diluted to various strengths for every cleaning job. MrB disparages it as being made of butterflies and fairies (it is plant based), but used neat it is pretty ferocious. Steeping and scrubbing the costumes seems to have mostly done the trick, but I'm not sure it's what my chilli assaulted fingers were crying out for....

Scrubbing them (my fingers) with swarfega and soaking them in icy cold milk brought temporary relief. Though that was short lived when I grabbed the handle of a pan that had only just come out of a 200 degree oven....

Later there was tidying of the mantelpiece in the kitchen which has been a dumping ground for 'stuff' since we moved in. Now that we have a 'drawer of stuff' we can maybe keep it clear....(I give it 2 days).

CarbBoy helped me make dinner. He didn't believe me yesterday when I told him you could use bacon as a flavouring, so I proved it tonight with an improvised chicken dish - which I am sure we'll have again judging by the cleared plates. (Most jot down the recipe before I forget it.)

And then melting chocolate cakes with, as you might be able to see, two left over for tomorrow. My specs are on the table due to me having to settle a 'how many types of bears are there' argument* before everyone sloped off to watch a program about, you've guessed it, bears, leaving me with the debris. A situation I'm quite happy with, I should add. 30 minutes for a bit of washing up, blipping, some Friday night radio and then there are those tempting chocolate puddings.....

CarbBoy, by the way, is fine. We think it was definitely just a bone. Though he is probably a little tired from having me stumbling into his room through the night to poke him and check all was well. All the same, maybe no fish for a while. Though he was very keen to re -try anchovies today. He is taking very seriously my proposition that you have to try things seven times before you know whether you like them or not.

*Everyone was wrong. Often the best way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.