It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

A Happy Week

I was a bit worried about going back to work this week after having such fun at ITERA. However, the positive mind-set and kept going and I've been very smiley.

I was going to ride into work this morning but my legs were still sore from my hill run the previous evening, a 10km affair round Wormholes with Glossopdale Harriers. They were an amazingly friendly bunch. Rather, I got the train. Whilst waiting for it, I saw this wee snail minching on a leaf! He was an extraordinarily fine specimen.

After work, I headed home and got my bike kit on. I faffed a little so it was after 6pm before I got out the door. It was windy but my legs were working well, despite hardly touching a velocipede in the last 10 days! I even passed a van when doing 61km.h.....hmmmm thankfully I can't be done for speeding! Heading along Torside, I could see another rider in the distance and smashed it to catch him! I was within 10m and he turned left! Bugger!

In the distance, towards Woodhead, the sun was casting shadows on a hill, revealing quarrying that I've never noticed before. After my u-turn, I smiled! The sun was radiating out from beneath the clouds, just like it does in a Biblical epic when God is about to speak. Everything was golden, only in the way it can be in late summer. Although the heather is slightly beyond its best, the hills looked stunning too!

I ripped it down into Glossop, fearless for a change and then headed over Chunal, Monks Road and home! The day had started with Mr Snail but the only trail I had left behind me this evening was a smokey one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.