A Very Full Day

This morning: Nearly three hours of gardening, the most I've done consecutively in a long time.

This afternoon and early evening: Gentle Yoga II (1.5 hours), and after that, a light meal -- and then positioning ourselves to photograph the Community Boating Center's Fourth Friday Ferry Farewell Flotilla, bidding adieu to the departing 418-foot MV Columbia that left the Bellingham Cruise Terminal at 6pm today, bound for Ketchikan, Alaska.

Phil and I have radically different ideas of what constitutes the proper position for such photography -- he opted for a "ringside" view from a tiny boat, while I stood on solid ground at the cruise terminal.

Here's a long shot of the ferry heading out, surrounded by a variety of local boats. I found it surprisingly moving to hear the deep tones of the ferry's horn as it left the dock, flag flying in the breeze and many passengers on deck to view the departure, surrounded by people of good will from the community in which I make my home.

(Little time for comments today -- will catch up this weekend.)

Blip 1017

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.