Guilt...

Yesterday's plan was to visit my friend as she was still really struggling to cope with her new puppy Coco; she cannot return Coco to the breeder until next Wednesday. Unfortunately I was really under the weather yesterday and not up to taking the bus into Bath so I promised I would go today.

However, this morning I received a call from my friend saying that I was not to visit as she was very unwell herself. She'd been taken ill yesterday and had had to call on a neighbour to look after Coco overnight. Her son came to see her yesterday evening and made an executive decision. This morning poor little Coco was shipped off to kennels where she will stay until she is then shipped back down to Devon to the breeder on Wednesday. I don't know who to feel more sorry for, my friend or Coco. Either way, I feel very guilty that I wasn't there for them when they needed me yesterday.

This afternoon I got down to some heavy duty pruning in the garden, but I got a bit carried away, and accidentally hacked off a huge section of our St Emilion vine. As I watched these fresh green little shoots and leaves slowly wither and wilt, I felt very guilty that I'd deprived them of the chance to flourish.

I'm now sat looking at the stack of chocolate profiteroles that I bought at M&S this morning, and I should be feeling guilty, (as I'm trying to cut back on calories!) but instead I'm just feeling very, very hungry!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.