Transitoire

By Transitoire

Traditional Croatian Cuisine

Now I'm not usually one to take pictures of food, but this is a find...we've finally found something to eat that isn't pizza, pasta or grilled meat/fish. I turn to Tamara Novacoviç to explain more what this dish is.

Literally called Lamb under the Bell, roasting under the bell is a traditional Balkan way of preparing food. The bell is originally called peka. This way of preparing food goes way back into the past traditions of Balkan people. It is connected to the notion of a fireplace as the heart of every traditional household, where families get together, where meals are prepared, where everything happens. The most common food prepared under the bell is lamb (or some other meat), octopus in sea areas, all types of vegetables, especially potatoes, and bread. Food prepared this way has a really special flavor and cannot be compared to anything else. Concentrating flavors and aromas under its top, the peka produces exquisitely savoury dishes. It is partially roasted, partially cooked.



The most flavourful meal we've had so far here I have to admit! Today wasn't really anything special otherwise, I went for a swim in the morning but didn't want to take my camera as I was going alone. A little tussle for space in the coves was solved by a Croatian woman taking over and (assuming I spoke Croatian) gesturing for me to join her since a family had taken over where I was sitting when I went out into the sea. From my experience of France, I'm pretty good at pretending I know what's going on from facial expressions...and I think I made a new friend! Ha, or she made enemies of the family that stole my speck, I'm not sure which one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.