Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

15 years, 6 final defeats and finally.....

...Leeds Rhinos have won the Challenge Cup!

Today I have been to Wembley to watch Leeds Rhinos play Castleford Tigers in the Rugby League Challenge Cup Final. Leeds have been one of the most successful teams in Rugby League in the last decade or so winning numerous league titles and World Club Championships, but they have had an issue with the Challenge Cup. They last won it in 1999 and since then they have played in 6 more finals losing them all!

I went to the 2010 final where we really got humiliated. This year I decided I would go to the final regardless of who was playing. Happily Leeds got through and so did Castleford to set up a tasty Yorkshire Derby.

Before kickoff I bumped into an old friend who I went to Uni with who had come down to bring his son's to their first ever Rugby match. What were the chances of bumping into somebody you knew in a crowd of nearly 78000?

The game was very good, but Leed's class and big game experience finally showed and they always had the edge over Castleford, and eventually ran out 23-10 winners much to my delight.

Here is a picture of our talismanic captain Kevin Sinfield presenting the cup to the Leeds faithful who had stayed on in the stadium for the celebrations, watched by Lance Todd Trophy (man of the match) winner and 2 try hero Ryan Hall.

Tomorrow my weekend continues with a trip to a car and air show at Dunsfold (Top Gear Test Track) where we're hoping to see the two Lancaster Bombers and the Vulcan displaying.

Many thanks for your comments on my recent blips, I'll catch up when I have a bit more time, possibly on Monday after looking at the forecast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.