Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Fire Damage, Glasgow School of Art

The first time I've been up to the Mack since the fire on 23 May 2014. I wasn't the only one standing outside the new Reid Building, looking across at 167 Renfrew Street. So many stopping and taking photographs.

There is still a faint smell of burnt wood in the air. It is very sad to see the state of the place. I don't know anything about protection of buildings after such events, but I was surprised to see the upper floor open to the elements, with no covering on the roof. There have been some torrential downpours in the last couple of weeks.

I took this shot to show some reflection in the glass, but missing where the glass has been shattered. I have always thought of the metal work here as flower buds, and it reminded me of CRM's quote : "Art is the Flower - Life is the Green Leaf. Let every artist strive to make his flower a beautiful living thing."

£20 million is needed to restore the building. The new Dr Who, Peter Capaldi, is helping with the fundraising. Interesting to watch his first appearance this evening, as he emerged from The Tardis, complete with Scottish accent. Edge of your seat stuff, with a hint of Daleks to come. And for the international time travellers in my household ... we've recorded it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.