What the Cat Sent In...

Back blipping as I was full on with work and home yesterday and today I've been at Edinburgh Fringe all day.
Now I'm officially Puffed.
This book about an unheralded artist called Hugh Green was sent to me by a cool cat who does PR for the Stirling Smith Art Gallery & Museum in... well in Stirling.
Oswald Clingan Smith tweets as @smithsupercat. You should check him out. He knows what he likes.
The book, written to coincide with an exhibition of Hugh Green's work which opens on August 28th in Stirling, arrived in the post and I took a pic of my dog Archie having a languid look at it.
Of course, I tweeted it to Oswald.
Green was a fair bit younger than Charles Rennie Mackintosh but met him at Glasgow School of Art, where he studied as an evening student.
His talent was obviously picked up on and he was offered the chance of going to London to continue his studies. Unfortunately, his father died and he had to give up hopes of a career in art to look after his seven siblings.
Green worked as a painter and decorator all his life in Stirling but painted the most exquisite watercolours in his spare time.
There will be more than 60 watercolours, as well as designs and photographs in this show which is to be opened on Thursdsy night by Scotland's Culture Secretary, Fiona Hyslop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.