Technophobe

By Technophobe

Teenage Kicks

We came to the William Webb Ellis pub in Rugby this evening to watch my son's last gig with his band Sound Effects before he goes off to live and work in Beijing for two years.
We've seen them here before and I blipped a picture of him playing his guitar then, so this time for something different I thought I would show this picture of the rugby ball used at the centenary match which was played at Rugby school to celebrate the day in 1823 that William Webb Ellis picked up the Gilbert Ball, locally made, and ran with it, thus instigating the game of Rugby. The pub is just across the road from the school.
The band played Teenage Kicks. Appropriate I think as WWE didn't kick the ball he carried it and invented a game we are sometimes halfway good at.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.