RogMull

By RogMull

Rory McIlroy here I come!

This afternoon, I went out shopping for new golf clubs. I used to play a lot when I was 15-17 years old, was a member of a golf club and I'd guess a little better than average for my age.

However, I began to focus more and more on athletics as a 16 year ld, and by 18 played little golf. Other than the rare odd game (the last about 12 years ago I'd guess) I have simply been an armchair follower of the modern game.

Times move on, and I have decided I need to start being more active, so I am returning to golf, a lot older but probably no wiser.

Today I found out first hand how things have dramatically changed. What I hadn't realised was how light new clubs are compared to what I used to play with. And the guy selling me them waxed lyrical about all the technology and why "no, you won't need a 2 or 3 iron any more" as he sold me what has become known as a rescue club.

And so I've ended up with a set of Taylor Made clubs and a fancy putter. Having spent more than I care to think, he threw in a dozen golf balls (I think he got by far the best of the deal mind you!). All I need to find out is if I can still hit a ball without injuring myself, or anyone else for that matter.

I'll keep you posted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.