Birthday Sundown

My sister Clem and I took our mother to her 'local' for a birthday lunch. We were joined by Clem's fourteen-year-old son and my daughter and granddaughter. Our menfolk were otherwise engaged. I think Mother enjoyed it.

We took her to watch the cricket as usual but she was anxious to get back to the care home. When we got back they had already had their afternoon tea so we had to wait until after the residents had eaten their evening meal to serve the huge, chocolatey, candle and edible flower topped trifle I had made. Mother loves chocolate but can't eat solid chocolate as she has dysphagia.

I was amazed. All of the residents, apart from one, wanted trifle and it seemed to reach those who are usually uncommunicative. Maybe something to do with the copious quantity of rum in which I soaked the cherries. ;)

The sun was setting as I arrived home but no, hoped for, Technicolour display. :(
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.