Moth In Mink

I was about to go bug hunting when the heaves opened so I watched Lewis win instead. 

When I walked into the kitchen after the deluge I found this moth which must have flown in through the open back door to escape the rain. By now the sun had come out so I took it outside. It has a furry ruff right round its neck. It reminds me of my maternal grandmother dressed for chapel in her mink stole, complete with its beady-eyed head and little dangly feet. :(

I think it's an Orange Swift. The Swifts, from the Hepialus family are considered to be primitive moths. They have no proboscis so cannot feed as adults. Although they may be found on the wing from mid June to mid September, it is unlikely that individual moths survive much more than a month. 

   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.