Bevosity

By bevwestwood

North Yorkshire Moors

Am currently at my parents' house in Driffield, East Yorkshire. Apart from being in the best county it is close to some of the most stunning landscapes in the UK. Today we went up to meet my dad's youngest brother and his wife who live near Scarborough. After a very pleasant lunch we drove up towards Whitby, past the Hole of Horcum (we didn't stop as the car park was very busy) and parked instead at Fen Bogs just below Ellerbeck.

I wanted to find some views of the heather which I knew is already well on in bloom - as with many things this year, it is early. Dad and I walked a short distance down the path towards the North Yorkshire Moors Railway line between Pickering and Goathland. This path is part of the Lyke Wake Walk route, a long distance challenge walk of 42 miles to be done in 24 hours. My parents (and my aunt and uncle) did the Lyke Wake Walk several times in the sixties - not completing some attempts - and I remember joining them for some of the route when I was 4 years old, crossing the Wheeldale stepping stones with my grandma hanging onto the hood of my coat!! I think it was more to stop herself falling in than concern for my safety.

It was beautiful out on the moor and I really ought to get myself match fit again so that I can once again enjoy the challenge of long distance walking. Well longish anyway!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.