Escaping the web

Last night I thought I would write about Nurse Ratched today. The qualities we loathe with great fervour reveals a lot of interesting things about us, gives us occasion to confront aspects of ourselves that aren't immediately apparent, things we might turn a blind eye to. But anyway, I won't. It might get long and I don't have a lot of time to spare.

One of the things about life we all succumb to, in widely varying degrees of frequency (more for people with regular day jobs at the desk) is the monotony of routine. An inertia is created by virtue of which we presume to know what lies on the other side of everything we do. We cease to experience, we cease to do things differently. The value of the experience per se is forgotten. Travel and adventure does rejuvenate our spirits but they may not be possible as frequently as we may need.

Today evening, when I was walking up the "Deloitte drive" my favourite road around office, it occured to me that I just didn't know what the outcome at the table will be. And though I wasn't feeling as fit as some other days, I was willing to sweat it out. Little as it might have been, this uncertainty excited me. What I did as a result was focus on the basics, on the finer details. In the absence of adventure, taking a micro view of our daily activies can play a large role in overcoming the dryness of routine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.