When the going gets weird

By Slybacon

Friday Fail

Friday began with a Doctor's appointment. It was early enough to make me regret having booked it when I awoke.

Although I half ran the last 100 meters to avoid being late, it was wasted effort. As ever, appointments lag some fifteen minutes behind, even at the early stages of the day. Not that I mind. I should just learn to not worry about being slightly tardy.

The Doc heard out the complaints and grievances I held against my person, before breezily suggesting a quick blood test. "You'll be fine wont you? look at all those tattoos!"

Alas. Tattoos and Injections are entirely different needley ball games. A tattoo machine hammers up and down like a little jack hammer, smashing a group of needles down into your skin hundreds of times a minute. Packing ink into your dermis. It's a bloody, lymphy mess. But it happens at surface level. It's life affirming.

An injection impales your flesh. You find you have a sudden empathy for Lepidoptera who have fallen victim of entomologists. Invariably, the needle tip manages to find a nerve point. That's the killer, that weird invasive feeling of a sharp point poking you deep inside, somewhere nothing should touch. The pin point of pain moves into a wave of nausea that washes up the body. The tongue goes dry and the head feels light.

"Urm, sorry I think I better lie down..." I mumble as I half throw, half fall from the chair unto the examination table.

Next thing I know I'm trying to focus my eyes on, well anything to be honest. I'm vaguely aware of my limbs flopping about of their own accord. An unfamiliar room swims back into focus. I manage to convince my appendages to cease their bid for Secession. It takes ten seconds or so for my short term memory to return.

Another dignified visit to the Doctors, knocked it out the park.

Then Stills, then work, then SLEEP.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.