maddischeib

By maddischeib

My Volleyball Shoes

The first open gym I went to I met our coach for the first time and got my first pair of knee pads. Throughout the practice I started realizing just how different this sport was from the other sports I‘ve played. On the first day of preseason I got the full taste of the sport and how the team interacted with each other. It may seem stupid, but volleyball is the best sport I’ve ever played. The coaches and my teammates are so supportive of everyone.
During the first two weeks of volleyball we did a lot of conditioning at practice. Sometimes it made me, and other girls on the team, feel if we’d keep going we’d pass out. But we all got through it and no one ever passed out, thank god. When someone started to slow down and start to give up, the team would cheer them on. They would cheer you on until you finally finished and give you a high-five or pat on the back or say good job when you were done. The day I found out that I had made the team I was ecstatic. I was so afraid they were going to cut me because I joined the team so late (I waited until junior year to go out for the team). The coaches pulled each player to the side to talk to them individually about where they were being put on the team, JV or Varsity, and what they need to work on. I was the first one to be pulled aside and they told me I was being put on JV and they told me they usually cut the people who come out for the team this late simply because it’s not a lot of time to learn the sport and be good at it. They said I, and another girl who joined late like me, didn't get cut because they saw our potential. I wasn't mad at all that I was being put on JV. I kind of prepared myself the night before, knowing if I made the team I’d most likely be put there. I know that with dedication and hard work I can improve and be put on varsity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.