LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Not Quite Hackintosh

When I was buying new internal organs for my PC I was quite excited byt he prospect of being able to install OSX on a hardware set up that wasn't goingto cost me a couple of thousand pounds. Unfortunately the shop i was in didn't have any Intel CPUs in stock and I was too impatient and bought an AMD instead being reassured by the staff (informed staff in ideal, not PC World numpties) that there was no discernible difference. Apart from not being able to make a dual boot Hackintosh on an AMD chip of course.

Anyway, after yesterdays dipping of the toe in the waters of Vista customisation I dived in at the deep(ish) end today and have a nice OSX visual style for Vista which even includes the cursors and animated cursors from OSX and replaces the windows logo for the start menu with an apple, a sound set, a nifty little dock program and a stack creator. I also moved the task bar to the top of the screen, renamed the 'Recycle Bin' to 'Trash' and the 'Computer' to 'System' (couldn't quite bring myself to call it 'Macintosh HD') and placed them on the right of the screen.

Admittedly it is still a PC but at least some of the things have a slightly appley flavour. Apparently I can also get a 'Leopard Finder Bar Emulator' but I have no idea what it emulates so I'll leave it out for the minute.

I had to spend ages familiarising myself with where everything is now mind, but I have a lovely uncluttered yet extremely speedy interface, hurrah!

Also did some further chip research, seems goose fat would be a very good idea. Peeling is a definite must. Allowing the chips to get fully cold between fries is highly advantageous. The Blegians, French and Spanish all claim to have invented the chip though belgium didn't even exist in 1650 when they claim this happened, it was part of Spain (the Spanish Netherlands) and this is part of the Spanish claim to have invented the chip, which is likely as they were the first to bring potatoes back from The New World. Horse fat is reputed to be the best fat for making chips, vewgetable oils are a definite no-no as well as being potentially less healthy than animal fats. The tribes of the Masai-Mara exist on a diet of milk, blood and meat and eat no vegetables and have a very low cholesterol level and no heart disease. The scientific study upon which modern attitudes to fats are based was deliberately falsified by leaving out three-quarters of the data because it contradicted what the 'scientist' was trying to prove.

Massive Attack - Heligoland (my favourite sea in Diplomacy)
Funkadelic - America Eats its Young (meh!)
Alice Cooper - Goes to Hell
Higher Intelligence Agency - Colourform
Queen - Queen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.