Guess Who Came to Breakfast!

Today was Open Studio day and I was able to go. Nothing on the calendar stopped me. Hooray!

As I stood at the sink this morning putting together my and Arvin's breakfast I looked up and there the male Pileated Woodpecker was, on the railing looking longingly at the suet feeder. Up he jumped and so did I as I ran to the table where I always keep my cameras at the ready. I took a few shots through the window. But then I remembered that last time he came, I was on the deck and he landed right near me. Hmmm. Maybe he would stay if I eased out the door. So I did. And got this photo of him enjoying the suet.

I was so involved I almost went late to Open Studio. But I made it in time. I took my little plein air kit to try out the new set of acrylic paints I bought the other day for plein air work. I love doing outdoor painting but find the oil paint and mineral spirits are a bit of a pain in the neck when painting outdoors. So I got slow drying acrylics and today I tried them out for the first time. I stood in the lobby of the building where Trish's studio is and painted this painting. Acrylic is quite different from oil but it worked just fine and I soon got the feel of it. I have painted with acrylics before but it has been about 14 years. It was fun trying it out again.

Now I'm home and about to go upstairs to hang out with family. My brother Steve just arrived and he brought a big sockeye salmon with him that he bought from some Lummi fishermen yesterday while he was on one of his long bike rides. Yum. I'm looking forward to having some fresh salmon for dinner. I'll make veggies to go with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.