Is it just me ...

Or is anyone else tired of the Ice Bucket Challenge? Don't get me wrong, raising money for charity can never be a bad thing. What bugs me is the mindset behind it's success. I'm pretty sure that if I stood on the high street shaking a bucket and asking people to drop £3 in, I would get a pretty poor response. However, give them a chance to post pictures/video of themselves on social media and suddenly everyone is willing to stump up £3. What does that say about the human psyche, or maybe I'm just having a Victor Meldrew moment.

Whilst In that moment, I will add pictures of coke bottles with people's names on them to my list of current pet hates. What is that all about? Its a bottle of coke for goodness sake. What next, a fully personalized shopping trolley full of bottled and canned goods with your name emblazoned across them? Talk about vanity.

Good things come in threes and so do rants, so I will finish off with Ebola. How is it that now some people from the west have contracted the disease, they have access to 'experimental' drugs that appear to be offering them real hope of making a recovery whilst people in the under developed countries have been dying of this awful disease for years. Where was the experimental drug when they needed it?

Am I allowed to sneak one more in?

I am? Great - what sort of parents take their 9 year old child to a place called 'Bullits and Burgers' to fire an Uzi sub machine gun as a birthday treat? Granted it should never have ended as tragically as it did (she shot and killed the instructor if you haven't read the story), but she simply should never have been there. If you don't play with matches, you won't get burned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.