Downing tools for the weekend

I was facing a weekend of DIY, the plan being to finish off the new conservatory but those plans have been scuppered by my own cock ups.

Cock Up 1 - The tiler arrived yesterday to lay the floor tiles in the conservatory and the kitchen or so I thought but it turns out that whilst I had inquired about the cost of doing the kitchen I had never confirmed that I wanted it done so he had only scheduled enough time to do the conservatory. Shame given that I had spent the previous evening ripping up the existing kitchen floor.

Cock Up 2 - I had stored the tiles outside as there wasn't room in the house or garage. Turns out that you can't lay porcelain tiles if they get wet and with the recent weather, they were drenched. Ceramic would have been OK, porcelain not. Bugger. That's probably a 6 week wait before he can fit us in again. Don't really care about the conservatory, but the kitchen!!!!!!

Still, I wasn't going to waste a long weekend and planned to redecorate my home office which is looking tired and frayed around the edges rather like its main occupant but then I have a eureka moment and decide to shoot up to Darlington to spend the weekend with Diana who is there alone. A brief respite from DIY. 'What are you up to?' I ask. Decorating is the reply. Aghhh! is there no escape for me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.